National 12 - find out more...
Sidebar

Arms aren't long enough!

Started by Simon, 24 Nov 2007, 12:27

« previous - next »

Simon

Hi

I'm getting ready to repaint and varnish my 12 but have just discovered (whilst removing various parts) my arms aren't long enough to reach the centre of the boat at its widest point!

I have thought about turning the hull on its side to do the work, would this be OK?

Simon

icecreamman

I had a similar problem when I re varnished my wooden Final Chapter. having given up in disgust at being a shortie and therefore not having arms like a gorilla I decided to chance it and varnish the boat on its side. I must admit that I did not have any problems with visible varnish runs, but I was using two pack varnish which may have made a difference, oh and it was in the summer. My guess is that using older traditional varnishes may give you more of a problem. Not being a professiioinal boat builder I could not give you a definitive answer to this question.
Good luck Simon  :)

Alex D

I varnished mine last winter and started the conventional way up. I then put the boat upside down on high trestles. This worked well for the centre of the boat and under the side decks.  I had to do the last coat on the deck the other way up again. It also allows you to work on both sides at once.
My challenge is to refurbish the self bailers.
Alex <br />(ex N3455, N3246)

Simon

I'd not thought about doing it upside down! I suppose you'd need some good lighting.

One advantage would be that dust wouldn't come down  on it!

JohnKn

I varnished a clinker 12 on its side in a workshop too narrow to have it level. Worked OK, even using conventional varnish.

John (1662)
JohnKn
N1662

simon moss

I varnished my crusader upside down I did it last winter and got a few runs as it was to cold to go off, if you can I would suggest a lot of heating or leave it until summer( my wife went mad when she got the electric bill!!)

Simon

mutt