National 12 - find out more...
Sidebar

N2966 Windy Lady

Started by National 12 Webmaster, 04 Jul 2007, 05:55

« previous - next »

National 12 Webmaster

The life of N2966 Windy Lady.  Design: Cheshire Cat, designed by: Michael Jackson in 1973

mack2

2966 is a 4 plank design, I am told by various people that she is to the Cheshire Cat design. The sails bear the original measurers signature dated 1977, however the boat was never officially measured!  
I acquired her in August 2006 and first sailed her at Rutland Water in October of that year. N2966 is now sailed at Middle Nene Sailing Club in Northamptonshire.
The attached photos are from that first outing at Rutland Water following refurbishment.

samlaw

N2743<br />

TimH (Guest)

This boat is back up for sale. It's now red but looks to be in generally good condition. I am interested in her but am a little confused as to what she actually is - I'm new to N12's but I am looking to get one to start sailing at Ripon Sailing Club with my 7 year old daughter. So looking for something that will be good with a light crew ( 95kg / 15st combined) and good in inland water, mind you last thing I sailed was an Enterprise 23 years again so no great hopes for winning races.

The previous posts state that it is probably a Cheshire Cat design but having looked at the pictures of them on this site I can not see what this statement is based on. Looking at the deck shape it slopes noticably outwards, not flat as shown for the Cheshire Cat. The transom profile has 2 clearly visible chimes wherase the pictures of the Cheshire Cat design has a more abrupt change of 1 clear chine (if that make sense to you).
It also has a built in rear bouncy tank - any comments on what this does to weight balance and also capsize recovery?
Thanks for your help. Tim

icecreamman