National 12 - find out more...

National Series 2023

Welcome to the 2023 National 12 Dinghy Shack Series, the family friendly nationwide series for all National 12 sailors. 

This year we once again welcome back our sponsor Dinghy Shack, who are offering attractive prizes throughout the series including  sailing clothing, accessories, chandlery and discount vouchers.  Join us at any National 12 Dinghy Shack Series event for competitive racing on the water, training and fun off the water at a diverse range of venues across the UK. There are prizes to compete for in all sections of the fleet at every event as well as the overall series so bring along your Admiral’s Cup, Vintage or new design.

We are planning coaching sessions at some the Dinghy Shack events, so not only will you get great racing, you might also learn something new.  Some of the top sailors in the class will be sharing their knowledge on varied topics such as sea sailing, rig tuning and how to navigate the notorious Salcombe estuary while keeping your sense of humour intact.

Off the water we are planning plenty of entertainment, from crews' races to team game. You don't need to be an expert racer or to have the latest boat design, so come along and join in the fun!

Programme summary

# Event location Date
1 Burghfield SC 1st Apr
2 Salcombe YC 29th Apr - 1st May
3 Ullswater SC
Replaced by Yorkshire Dales in Sept
4 East Lothian YC
3rd -4th Jun
5 Royal Harwich YC 1st - 2nd Jul
6 Snettisham Beach SC
29th -30th Jul
7 Brixham YC
26th - 29th Aug
Yorkshire Dales SC
17th Sep
Northampton SC 4th Nov

* 4 to qualify

Overall series results

Overall fleet
Non foilers

The Events

This year the National 12 Dinghy Shack Series will feature 8 events across the country. The season kicks off with the sprint racing at Burghfield SC (with around 8 15-20 minute races). Then we travel to Salcombe in the south west for the long May bank holiday weekend from 29th April to 1st May.  We head up into Scotland for the forth event at East Lothian YC.  Then it's classic 12 sailing at Royal Harwich Yacht Club at the beginning of July, including the traditional Sunday morning pursuit race. The sixth event see us joining the Norfolk Week fleet at Snettisham Beach SC for the first weekend of North West Norfolk Week.

The highlight of the National 12 sailing season is of course the Burton Week National Championships. This four day event will take place at Brixham YC over the bank holiday weekend of 26th-29th August (only one day's annual leave required) and will include the Burton Cup race and Burton Dinner. Excellent racing, socialising, fun and games are guaranteed!  The season rounds off with Yorkshire Dales in September followed by the final event of the series again at Northampton Sailing Club on the 4th November.  The Dinghy Shack series prize giving will be after racing on the Saturday, followed by the club's bonfire night celebrations and firework display.

The National 12 Dinghy Shack Series events will be sailed under the requirements of the respective Notice of Race and Sailing Instructions for the open meeting and for the Dinghy Shack Series per this notice.

Series Scoring

The Low Point System of scoring in RRS Appendix A will apply. All references in Appendix A to race or races shall mean event or events.

The number of events to count will be determined by the number of events completed, as detailed in the table below:

Events Completed 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1
Events to Count 4 4 3 3 2 2 2 1

This modifies RRS A2.

Ties will initially be broken in accordance with RRS A8.1. If a tie remains between two boats, the tie will be broken in favour of the boat with the best score in the last event in which the tied boats raced and scored differently. This modifies RRS A8 and replaces A8.2.

Points will be awarded to a helmsperson, regardless of boat sailed within the series. No change of boat is allowed at individual events.


Overall series prizes will be awarded at the National 12 Dinghy Shack Series final event.

Subsidiary prizes will be awarded for the following categories:

  • Handicap  - open to any boat, winner to be decided based on the class issued PY handicaps
  • Non-foiling - open to the helm of any double floored (i.e. self-draining) boat that does not use a wing foiled rudder
  • Vintage - open to the helm of any wooden boat of clinker construction, built prior to 1975 (Vintage boats) and wooden clinker boats subsequently built to designs issued before that year and not using a wing foiled rudder
  • Junior - open to any helm under 21 years on the 1st January 2023
  • Family - open to any boat with helm and crew of the same family with at least one junior under 21 years on 1st January 2023

Series trophies are provided by the NTOA and funded by a contribution to the series of 1 for each event entry.  Discretionary prizes will be awarded at each of the events in the series, and overall, generously provided by our sponsors, Dinghy Shack.

Dinghy Shack bow stickers must be displayed when provided at the National 12 Dinghy Shack series events.

For more information on the Dinghy Shack Series, email