National 12 - find out more...

National Series 2021

Welcome to the 2021 National 12 Dinghy Shack Series, the family friendly nationwide series for all National 12 sailors. 

This year we welcome back board our sponsor Dinghy Shack, who are offering attractive prizes throughout the series including  sailing clothing accessories, chandlery and discount vouchers.  Join us at any National 12 Dinghy Shack Series event for competitive racing on the water and training and fun off the water at a diverse range of venues across the UK.  You don't need to be an expert racer or to have the latest boat design, so come along and take part.  There are prizes to compete for in all sections of the fleet at every event as well as the overall series so bring along your Admiralís Cup, Vintage or new design.

We are planning a coaching session for each Dinghy Shack event, so not only will you get great racing, you might just learn something new.  Some of the top sailors in the class will be sharing their knowledge on varied topics such as sea sailing, rig tuning and how to navigate the notorious Salcombe estuary while keeping your sense of humour intact.

Off the water we are planning plenty of entertainment, from crews' races to team games, so come along and join in the fun!

Programme summary

# Event location Date
1 Burghfield 13th Mar - Postponed
2 Draycote 1-th Apr - Cancelled
3 Salcombe 1st - 3rd May
4 Plymouth 12th - 13th June
5 Burwain SC 19th June
6 Royal Harwich 10th - 11th July
7 Shoreham 28th - 31st Aug
8 Northampton - 85th Anniversary Regatta 11th - 12th Sep
9 Ripon 2nd Oct
10 Northampton 6th Nov

* 4 to qualify

Overall series results

Overall fleet
Non foilers

The Events

This year the National 12 Dinghy Shack Series will feature 10 events across the country. Covid restrictions have taken their toll with the sprint racing at Burghfield postponed and Spring Champs at Draycote cancelled. But the season gets going in May when we travel south west to Salcombe for a long bank holiday weekend from 1st to 3rd May. The 12s head to Plymouth in June for the first time in a long while shortly followed by Burwain SC on the 19th June for another Dinghy Shack National Series first. Then it's classic 12 sailing at Royal Harwich Yacht Club on 10th and 11th July, including the traditional Sunday morning pursuit race.The highlight of the National 12 sailing season is of course the Burton Week National Championships. This four day event will take place at Shoreham SC over the bank holiday weekend of 27th-30st August (only one day's annual leave required) and will include the unique long distance Burton Cup race and Burton Dinner. Shoreham have previously hosted National 12 events and are keen to welcome the fleet back this year.   Excellent racing, socialising, fun and games are guaranteed!

The 85th Anniversary Regatta in September is also part of the series and promises to be a fantastic weekend of sailing and socialising. The season rounds off with the penultimate event at Ripon Sailing Club on 2nd October and followed by the final event of the series again at Northampton Sailing Club on the 6th November.  The Dinghy Shack series prize giving will be after racing on the Saturday, followed by the club's bonfire night celebrations and firework display.

The National 12 Dinghy Shack Series events will be sailed under the requirements of the respective Notice of Race and Sailing Instructions for the open meeting and for the Dinghy Shack Series per this notice.

Series Scoring

The Low Point System of scoring in RRS Appendix A will apply. All references in Appendix A to race or races shall mean event or events.

The number of events to count will be determined by the number of events completed, as detailed in the table below:

Events Completed 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1
Events to Count 4 4 4 4 3 3 2 2 2 1

This modifies RRS A2.

Ties will initially be broken in accordance with RRS A8.1. If a tie remains between two boats, the tie will be broken in favour of the boat with the best score in the last event in which the tied boats raced and scored differently. This modifies RRS A8 and replaces A8.2.

Points will be awarded to a helmsperson, regardless of boat sailed within the series. No change of boat is allowed at individual events.


Overall series prizes will be awarded at the National 12 Dinghy Shack Series final event.

Subsidiary prizes will be awarded for the following categories:

  • Handicap  - open to any boat, winner to be decided based on the class issued PY handicaps
  • Non-foiling - open to the helm of any double floored (i.e. self-draining) boat that does not use a wing foiled rudder
  • Vintage - open to the helm of any wooden boat of clinker construction, built prior to 1975 (Vintage boats) and wooden clinker boats subsequently built to designs issued before that year and not using a wing foiled rudder
  • Junior - open to any helm under 21 years on 1st January 2021
  • Family - open to any boat with helm and crew of the same family with at least one junior under 21 years on 1st January 2021

Series trophies are provided by the NTOA and funded by a contribution to the series of £1 for each event entry.  Discretionary prizes will be awarded at each of the events in the series, and overall, generously provided by our sponsors, Dinghy Shack.

Dinghy Shack bow stickers must be displayed when provided at the National 12 Dinghy Shack series events.

For more information on the Dinghy Shack Series, email